Enable JavaScript to visit this website.

转移性乳癌专业用语词汇表

  • A-B-C
  • E-H-L
  • M-P-R
  • S-T-U-X

晚期乳癌
晚期乳癌通常是指转移性乳癌 (也称为第四期乳癌) 。仅在乳房区域局部扩散,但未扩散到远处的器官和组织的乳癌,通常被称为 “局部晚期乳癌” (或第三期乳癌)1-4

贫血
红细胞数量少。这种情况可能会导致疲劳、虚弱或呼吸困难的感觉5

止吐药
减少或预防恶心的药物5

抗激素治疗
停止或减缓激素敏感性肿瘤生长的治疗。其作用机制是通过阻止人体产生激素的能力或干扰激素作用。也称为内分泌疗法或激素疗法5

活组织检查 (也称活检)
取出组织样本进行检测,以查看其是否包含癌细胞或检测基因标记3,5

双膦酸盐
也称为骨骼硬化或骨骼强化治疗。这些是减缓或预防骨骼损伤的药物。它们也可以降低钙水平5

化学疗法
使用细胞毒性(抗癌)药物破坏癌细胞的治疗方法。有时也会简称为 “化疗/chemo”5

全血细胞计数
确定血液样本中每种类型血细胞数量的血液检查,也称为血细胞计数5

CT扫描
“计算机断层成像扫描” 的缩写。使用一系列X射线来创建人体内部区域的详细图像。你会先摄入显影剂物质 (吞咽或注射型) ,以帮助组织和器官更清晰地显现5

细胞周期蛋白依赖性激酶抑制剂 (CDK抑制剂)
CDK 4/6抑制剂是一种治疗药物,通过抑制称为CDK 4和CDK 6的蛋白质作用,以阻止细胞生长和分裂6,7

早期乳癌
尚未扩散到乳房以外或腋窝 (腋窝) 淋巴结的乳癌3,5

内分泌疗法
停止或减缓激素敏感性肿瘤生长的治疗。其作用机制是通过阻止人体产生激素的能力或干扰激素作用。也称为抗激素治疗或激素疗法5

雌激素
两种女性性激素之一 (另一种是黄体素)。雌激素通过位于人体细胞内部的雌激素受体在人体内发挥作用3,5

HER2
人表皮生长因子受体2的缩写。HER2是一种参与正常细胞生长的蛋白质。一些乳癌细胞比正常细胞含有更多的HER2受体。这种情况称为HER2阳性 (HER2+)。如果你的癌症没有HER2,则称为HER2阴性 (HER2-)5

激素受体 (HR)
细胞中一种与特定激素 (雌激素或黄体素) 结合的蛋白质。激素与受体结合后,细胞就会发生各种变化。如果你的癌症对雌激素产生反应而增生,那么你的癌症也可以称为雌激素受体阳性 (ER阳性或ER+)。如果你的癌症对黄体素产生反应而增长,则可以称为黄体素受体阳性 (PR阳性或PR+)5

淋巴结
淋巴系统的一部分,是人体的免疫系统。淋巴结会过滤淋巴液以阻止细菌感染。淋巴结会发炎表明癌症已经扩散。这对于确定你的癌症进展或阶段分期很重要5

转移性病灶
当癌症从其最初发生的部位扩散到其他人体范围时的肿瘤病灶。例如:当乳癌从乳房扩散到骨头时就称为骨转移,骨头部位的肿瘤则被称为骨转移病灶5

转移性乳癌
这是从乳房扩散到身体其他部位的癌症。它也被称为继发性乳癌、IV期 (或第四期) 乳癌或晚期乳癌1,3,5

MRI成像扫描
“核磁共振成像”扫描的缩写。使用辐射和强大磁场来制作人体内部器官的详细图像5

PET扫描
“正电子发射断层成像”扫描的缩写。在静脉注入少量的放射性液体后,扫描仪就会拍摄一张详细的图像,这张图像可应用于寻找人体内的异常情况5

黄体素
两种女性性激素之一 (另一种是雌激素)。黄体素通过位于人体细胞内部的黄体素受体在人体内发挥作用3,5

进展
当肿瘤体积变大和/或癌症在体内扩散时,我们称之为病情进展5

放射治疗
利用高能辐射杀死癌细胞并缩小肿瘤,也称为放射性疗法5

再发
癌症在一段时间内没有发现癌症后再次发生。这种情况可能会在初始治疗后的数月或数年内发生。癌症可能会在最初出现的部位或身体其他部位再次发生5

复发
经过一段时间的改善后癌症再度复发5

缓解
当肿瘤缩小时,这种情况被称为部分缓解。如果肿瘤缩小到无法通过检测和扫描侦测的程度,这种情况则称为完全缓解5

继发性乳癌
转移性乳癌的另一个名称1,5

第三期乳腺癌
癌症已经扩散到乳房之外及其周围的淋巴结,但尚未到达远端器官。 也称为局部晚期乳癌4,5

第四期乳癌
乳癌的最晚期,癌症已经转移1,5

阶段分期
癌症的阶段分期 (I–IV或第一至第四期) 用于描述癌症在你体内的扩散程度5

标靶药物治疗
针对癌细胞特定特征的治疗,以阻止癌细胞生长和分裂3,5

超音波
使用高频音波进行扫描,以建立人体内部的图像5

X射线
一种用于摄像或放射治疗的辐射。 乳房X光造影使用低剂量的X射线5

转移性乳癌专业用语词汇表

转移性乳癌的症状可能会因病灶部位而出现极大差异。确诊转移性乳癌可能会导致人们感到混乱,而且无论是情感和生理方面都需要应付很多事情。乳癌有自己的专业用语,大部分人都对这些词汇并不熟悉,尤其是在她们最初确诊乳癌的时刻。

如果你难以理解肿瘤专科医生或特定医护人员使用的专业词汇,建议你不妨参考这个完整的转移性乳癌专业用语词汇表,尽可能厘清任何混乱情况。帮助自己更了解相关信息,可以让你在治疗过程中更好地掌控情况。

花时间搜集更多诊断和治疗的相关资讯会为你带来很大帮助。这个词汇表提供了你在确诊罹患转移性乳癌后,可能会听到的有用词汇定义和常见专业用语。

参考资料
  1. National Breast Cancer Foundation Australia (2020). Stage 4 (Advanced or Metastatic) Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://nbcf.org.au/about-breast-cancer/diagnosis/stage-4-advanced-or-metastatic-breast-cancer/. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  2. Australian Government Cancer Australia (Aug 2020) Locally Advanced Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://breast-cancer.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/types/locally-advanced-breast-cancer. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  3. Breast Cancer Network Australia.Glossary of breast cancer terms. Retrieved from https://www.bcna.org.au/understanding-breast-cancer/glossary-of-breast-cancer-terms. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  4. Australian Government Cancer Australia (Aug 2020) Stages of Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://breast-cancer.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/diagnosis/stages-breast-cancer. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  5. National Cancer Institute (2020). NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/publications/dictionaries/cancer-terms. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  6. Cadoo, KA., Gucap, A. &Traina, T A. (2014) Palbociclib: an evidence-based review of its potential in the treatment of breast cancer. Breast Cancer (Dove Med Press) 6:123-133. DOI: 10.2147/BCTT.S46725
  7. About IBRANCE. How IBRANCE works. Retrieved from https://www.ibrance.com/about-ibrance. Accessed 18 August 2020.

Enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Metastatic breast cancer terms

Glossary of Metastatic Breast Cancer Terminology

The symptoms of metastatic breast cancer can vary greatly depending on where it is located. A metastatic breast cancer diagnosis can cause considerable confusion and become a lot to handle, both physically and emotionally. Breast cancer has its own terminology that is unfamiliar to most people, especially when they are newly diagnosed.

If you are having difficulty understanding certain terms used by your oncologist or dedicated healthcare provider, it can be a good idea to refer to this comprehensive glossary of metastatic breast cancer terminology to clear up any possible confusion. Helping you feel better informed can make you feel more in control during your treatment journey.

It is helpful to take the time you need to gather as much information about your diagnosis and treatment. This glossary provides helpful definitions and common terms you may hear after being diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer.

  • A-B-C
  • E-H-L
  • M-P-R
  • S-T-U-X

Advanced breast cancer
Advanced breast cancer usually refers to metastatic breast cancer (also called Stage IV breast cancer). Breast cancer that has spread locally in the area of the breast, but not to distant organs and tissues, is often referred to as ‘locally advanced breast cancer’ (or Stage III breast cancer)1-4.

Anemia
A low number of red blood cells. May lead to feelings of tiredness, weakness or breathlessness5.

Anti-emetic drugs
Medicines to reduce or prevent nausea5.

Anti-hormonal therapy
A treatment to stop or slow the growth of hormone-sensitive tumors. Works by blocking the body’s ability to produce hormones or by interfering with hormone action. Also called endocrine therapy or hormonal therapy5.

Biopsy
Removal of a sample of tissue for testing to see if it contains cancer cells or to test for genetic markers3,5.

Bisphosphonates
Also known as bone hardening or bone strengthening treatment. These are drugs to slow or prevent bone damage. They also reduce calcium levels5.

Chemotherapy
A treatment that destroys cancer cells using cytotoxic (anti-cancer) drugs. Sometimes shortened to ‘chemo’5.

Complete blood count
A blood test to determine the quantity of each type of blood cell within a sample of blood.
Also known as a blood cell count5.

CT scan
Short for ‘computed tomography scan’. Uses a series of X-rays to create a detailed picture of areas inside the body. You may be given a dye (either to swallow or as an injection) to help the tissues and organs show up more clearly5.

Cyclin-dependent kinase inhibitor (CDK inhibitor)
A CDK 4/6 inhibitor is a type of treatment that works to put the brakes on cell growth and division by blocking the action of proteins called CDK 4 and CDK 66,7.

Early breast cancer
Breast cancer that has not spread beyond the breast or the axillary (armpit) lymph nodes3,5.

Endocrine therapy
A treatment to stop or slow the growth of hormone-sensitive tumors. Works by blocking the body’s ability to produce hormones or interfering with hormone action. Also called antihormonal therapy or hormone therapy5.

Estrogen
One of the two female sex hormones (the other is progesterone). Estrogen acts in the body through the estrogen receptor located inside the cells of the body3,5.

HER2
Abbreviation of human epidermal growth factor receptor 2. HER2 is a protein involved in normal cell growth. Some breast cancer cells contain many more HER2 receptors than normal cells. This is called being HER2 positive (HER2+). If your cancer does not have HER2 it is called HER2-negative (HER2-)5.

Hormone receptor (HR)
A protein in your cells that binds to a specific hormone (estrogen or progesterone). Once the hormone has bound to its receptor, various changes take place in the cell. If your cancer grows in response to the hormone estrogen, your cancer could also be called estrogen receptor-positive (ER-positive or ER+). If your cancer grows in response to the hormone progesterone, it could be called progesterone receptor-positive (PR-positive or PR+)5.

Lymph nodes
Part of lymphatic system which is body immune system. The nodes filter lymphatic fluids to stop bacterial infection. Lymph nodes can be inflamed which indicates the spread of cancer. This is important to determine your cancer progression or stages5.

Metastases
Tumors that occur when cancer spreads beyond where it first started in the body. For example, when breast cancer spreads from the breast to the bone it is said to have metastasized and tumors in the bone are referred to as bone metastases5.

Metastatic breast cancer
This is cancer that has spread beyond the breast to another part of the body. It may also be referred to as secondary breast cancer, stage IV (or Stage 4) breast cancer or advanced breast cancer1,3,5.

MRI scan
Abbreviation of ‘magnetic resonance imaging’ scan. Uses radiation and a powerful magnet to create detailed pictures of organs inside the body5.

PET scan
Abbreviation of ‘positron emission tomography’ scan. A small amount of radioactive liquid is injected into a vein and a scanner then takes a detailed picture that can be used when looking for abnormalities in the body5.

Progesterone
One of the two female sex hormones (the other is estrogen). Progesterone acts in the body through the progesterone receptor located inside the cells of the body3,5.

Progression
When tumors increase in size and/or the cancer spreads within the body it is said to have progressed5.

Radiotherapy
The use of high-energy radiation to kill cancer cells and shrink tumors. Also called radiation therapy5.

Recurrence
When cancer returns after a period of time during which no cancer could be detected. If this happens, it may occur months or years after the initial treatment. Cancer may recur where it first appeared or elsewhere in the body5.

Relapse
When cancer returns after a period of improvement5.

Remission
When tumors shrink it is referred to as partial remission. If tumors shrink to the extent that they can no longer be detected by tests and scans it is referred to as complete remission5.

Secondary breast cancer
Another name for metastatic breast cancer1,5.

Stage III breast cancer
Cancer that has spread beyond the breast and lymph nodes immediately around it, but which has not reached distant organs. Also called locally advanced breast cancer4,5.

Stage IV breast cancer
The most advanced stage of breast cancer – when it has become metastatic1,5.

Stage
The stage of cancer (I–IV or 1–4) is used to describe how far the cancer has spread in your body5.

Targeted therapy
A treatment targeting specific characteristics of cancer cells to prevent them from growing and dividing3,5.

Ultrasound
A scan which uses high frequency sound waves to build up a picture of the inside of the body5.

X-ray
A type of radiation used for taking pictures or radiotherapy. A mammogram uses low doses of X-rays5.

Reference
  1. National Breast Cancer Foundation Australia (2020). Stage 4 (Advanced or Metastatic) Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://nbcf.org.au/about-breast-cancer/diagnosis/stage-4-advanced-or-metastatic-breast-cancer/. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  2. Australian Government Cancer Australia (Aug 2020) Locally Advanced Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://breast-cancer.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/types/locally-advanced-breast-cancer. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  3. Breast Cancer Network Australia.Glossary of breast cancer terms. Retrieved from https://www.bcna.org.au/understanding-breast-cancer/glossary-of-breast-cancer-terms. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  4. Australian Government Cancer Australia (Aug 2020) Stages of Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://breast-cancer.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/diagnosis/stages-breast-cancer. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  5. National Cancer Institute (2020). NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/publications/dictionaries/cancer-terms. Accessed 18 August 2020.
  6. Cadoo, KA., Gucap, A. &Traina, T A. (2014) Palbociclib: an evidence-based review of its potential in the treatment of breast cancer. Breast Cancer (Dove Med Press) 6:123-133. DOI: 10.2147/BCTT.S46725
  7. About IBRANCE. How IBRANCE works. Retrieved from https://www.ibrance.com/about-ibrance. Accessed 18 August 2020.